No user image
Monica_55905 Apr 08

Country Spotlight: Ghana

11 MAY 2021

A series of three closed-door sessions taking place over the course of one day, addressing Ghana’s most pressing energy issues by bringing together the relevant stakeholders.


 


Three very specific and highly engaging topics have been circulated in advance and the sessions will be interactive - participants are encouraged to come with questions as well as being prepared to answer questions from the moderator.

09:30– 11:00 UTC (10:30- 12:00 BST): Gas for Growth – What role will the LNG terminal play in Ghana’s energy and economic future?

11:30- 13:00 UTC (12:30- 14:00 BST):  Energy efficiency in transmission and decentralised energy – can the introduction of new REIPPs reach the last mile and what plans are there to upgrade infrastructure, extend regional transmission lines and utilise latest technologies; what affordable funding is available?

14:00– 15:30 UTC (15:00- 16:30 BST): Ghana’s wholesale electricity market and trading excess power – how can the government optimise the excess supply for industry, can they create a market where the price of generation decreases and can it be redirected to agriculture, industry, manufacturing, vaccine making?
 
 
CONFIRMED PARTICIPANTS INCLUDE: 
 
Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh (MP), Minister of Energy, Ghana
Solomon Adjetey, Director, Power Generation, Ministry of Energy, Ghana
Jonathan Amoako-Baah, Chief Executive, GRIDCo, Ghana
Kweku Awotwi, Immediate Past Chairman, Volta River Authority (VRA), Ghana
Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa, CE, Volta River Authority (VRA), Ghana
Dr Ben Asante, CEO, Ghana Gas, Ghana
Wisdom Ahiataku-Togobo, Director, Executive Office, Bui Power Authority, Ghana
Mark Baah, Director, System Operations, GRIDCo, Ghana
Theophilus Asante-Darko, Director, Energy Consulting & Telcos Business, Electricity Company of Ghana (ECG), Ghana
Ing. Moro Abukari Danladi, Director Corporate Strategy & Business Development, NEDCo, Ghana
Siengui Apollinaire Ki, Secretary General, West African Power Pool (WAPP)
Mami Dufie Ofori, Executive Secretary, Public Utilities Regulatory Commission, Ghana
Ing. Oscar Amonoo-Neizer, Executive Secretary, Energy Commission, Ghana